أ‌. الإدارة

نعني بالإدارة القيادة أيضًا وهي خطوة أساسية في الـ NSDS- وتشمل هذه العملية التغيير الذي يجب إدارته بشكل ملائم. إذاً القيادة الفعّالة والإدارة الجديدة مطلوبتان على المستويات التنظيمية والتشغيلية مع منظومة إحصاء وطنية مدارة ومنسقة جيداً، تهدف إلى تحقيق NSDS ناجحة.

 

 

 

إدارة التغيير
قد يتطلب تصميم الـ NSDSوإدارتها القيام ببعض التغييرات، مثل إحداث تغيير في أخلاقيات العمل والعقلية والثقافة التنظيمية والهيكليات وإجراءات القيام بالأمور. ومن شأن فهم هذه التغييرات وإداراتها وتبني موقف إيجابي ناحيتها أن يحسن من فرص التطبيق الناجح للاستراتيجية.

ولكن على أرض الواقع، بدل أن ينظر إلى التغيير على أنه فرصة إيجابية، غالبًا ما تتم مقاومته من قبل الأشخاص المعنيين على مستويات مختلفة، وتشكل هذه المقاومة تهديدًا للتطبيق الناجح للاستراتيجية. ويعتبر الخوف من الفشل في مواجهة وضع جديد والشعور بانعدام الأمان عند مواجهة منهجيات جديدة، وقلة فهم الحاجة إلى التغيير، والشعور بفقدان المكانة من بين الأمور التي تؤدي إلى مقاومة التغيير. وهذا الأمر ينطبق بشكل أكبر على الدول في طور النموّ حيث النظم الإحصائية الوطنية غالبًا ما تكون هشةً وضعيفةً ولا تضمّ ما يكفي من الموظفين.

ولهذا السبب، على الرغم من أهمية التخطيط للتغيير بشكل ملائم من خلال تحديد الجوانب التي يتعين تحسينها وتعيين مجموعة واقعية من الأهداف المرغوب بها، إلا أن ذلك لا يكفي. فإدارة التغيير تتعلق بإدارة الناس. هي تتعلق بالتعامل مع التشكيك الذي يبديه أولئك الذين سيتأثرون بهذا التغيير. لذا يجب أن يحصلوا على معلومات كاملة وعلى ما يكفي من الوقت للتحضر بشكل فعّال. يجب أن يحصل الناس على الفرصة للتعليق على التغييرات المقترحة والمساهمة في التخطيط. كما يجب طرح منطق مقنع للتغيير. وهنا يتعين الانتباه بشكل خاص للأشخاص الذين يعتقدون أنهم لن يستفيدوا من التغيير أو أنهم سيتكبدون خسارة ما نتيجته. فعلى امتداد كلّ العملية وعلى المستويات كافة، يجب أخذ إدارة التغيير بعين الاعتبار على أنها جزء أساسي من الـ NSDS. ويجب تحديد المسائل التي تبطئ الـ NSDS وتبني الحلول من قبل NSS من أجل السير قدمًا بفعالية.

إن الإدارة الفعّالة مطلوبة أيضًا من أجل إدارة التغيير. فالإدارة- وهي فنّ تحفيز مجموعة من الناس من أجل العمل لتحقيق هدف مشترك- وتشمل التواصل بحماسة، والإلهام والإشراف، والانخراط في الرؤية الاستراتيجية والتخطيط وتقديم مثال من أجل توقع التغييرات الضرورية وتبنيها.

وتتطلب عملية NSDS قيادةً وإدارةً على المستويات كافة، السياسية والتنظيمية والتشغيلية.

 

على المستوى السياسي
إن القيادة مطلوبة على المستوى السياسي من أجل حشد التأييد للإحصاءات، وخلق إرادة سياسية أكبر لتطوير استخدام الإحصاءات، وضمان أن عملية NSDS هي سديدة، وكذلك لصنع القرارات الكبرى أو تأييدها، مثلاً في ما خصّ إصلاح الـ NSS وإعادة هيكلتها، ومراجعة تشريعات الإحصاءات، والتوصل إلى اتفاقات تنسيق، والاستثمار في الاستراتيجيات. ويرتبط مستوى الانخراط الذي يبديه المسؤولون رفيعو المستوى بطبيعة عملية صنع القرار في كلّ بلد. لذا من المهم جدًا تحديد السياسة  الملائمة على المستوى الرفيع أو صنّاع القرار المهتمين بما يكفي بالإحصاءات والمستعدين لحمل لواء الـ NSDSوكافة التغييرات التي قد تحملها من أجل تحسين التطوير الإحصائي في الدولة. ويتطلب ذلك إدراك الأعضاء الأساسيين في الحكومة لدور الإحصاءات في عملية صنع القرار.

ما أن يتم تحديد الداعمين على هذا المستوى، سيتعين تشجيعهم على تنمية اهتمامهم في عمليات NSDS. ويقع على عاتق مدير مكتب الإحصاء الوطني أن يدير العلاقات والتواصل مع القيادة السياسية حول عملية NSDS، وجذب الداعمين الذين يتم تحديدهم من أجل حضور إحدى ورشات عمل NSDS والحرص على الحفاظ على درجة عالية من الاهتمام طوال العملية. وعلى مدير مكتب الإحصاء الوطني أيضاً أن يسعى للمشاركة والمساهمة في مناقشات التنمية الوطنية، على أن تكون مشاركته في هذه المرحلة هادفة لمنح تطوير NSS الأولوية في الاستراتيجية التنموية. ويجب التركيز كذلك على التواصل بالدرجة الأولى مع وزير المالية و/أو التخطيط، والأمين العام الدائم لوزارة المالية/التخطيط، والوزير المسؤول عن التخطيط (انظر د. حشد التأييد) بصفتهم داعمي التطوير الإحصائي، بما أن إداراتهم هي بين الإدارات الأساسية المستخدمة للإحصاءات في البلاد.

 

على المستوى التنظيمي
ثمّة حاجة لإدارة قوية على المستوى التنظيمي. بعد ضمان الحصول على الالتزام على أعلى المستويات، سيتعين على مدير مكتب الإحصاء الوطني أن يظهر قيادةً قويةً ويتعامل مع الـ NSSعلى أنها عملية أساسية، ويستخدم التنسيق الملائم، والإدارة التقنية والمهارات القيادية من أجل بناء التدابير المؤسساتية الضرورية لتصميم NSDS (مراجع ج. الإعداد).

إن وقت والجدهد الذي يبذلهما المدير ليسا محصورين بمرحلة التصميم بل عليه أن يكرس الوقت والجهد لمرحلة تطبيق الـ NSDS أيضًا، حيث ثمّة حاجة للمزيد من المهارات والأساليب الإدارية. ويتحمل مدير مكتب الإحصاء الوطني بشكل دائم مسؤولية تحسين كامل الـ NSSوتغيير مسار التطوير الإحصائي في البلاد. وبصفته المدير، سيتعين عليه أن يقوم بالتخطيط ووضع الميزانية وتخصيص الموارد اللازمة (من خلال أدوات إدارة المشروع)، والتعرف على المهارات، وتوكيل المسؤوليات والسلطات، ووضع الهيكليات وتطوير الإجراءات من أجل إرشاد الناس. وبصفته قائد أيضًا، سيتعين عليه تحديد الاتجاه والإعلان عنه، ثمّ تطوير الرؤية والاستراتيجيات لتحقيقه، ملهماً الموظفين على الالتزام واتمام العمل.

تشتمل الإدارة الجيدة الاستعداد لتغيير ثقافة تنظيمية محددة- أو "القوى اللا شعورية التي تشكّل مكان العمل"- عند الضرورة. وبشكل خاص، يجب على تصميم الـ NSDSأن يهدف للبناء على جوانب ثقافة قائمة تدعم الاستراتيجيات الجديدة المقترحة. أمّا جوانب الثقافة الحالية التي تتعارض مع الاستراتيجية المقترحة لـ NSDSفيجب أن يتم تحديدها وتغييرها. وقد يشمل تطبيق NSDS إنشاء مجموعة جديدة من القيم (مثلاً أخلاقيات العمل)، ونظم القيم (مثلاً قواعد السلوك) وثقافة قائمة على الأداء تركز على النتائج وتربط كلّ شخص وكلّ وحدة في المنظمة بجوانب فريدة من الاستراتيجية. وتتوفر تقنيات مختلفة من أجل تغيير ثقافة المنظمة بما فيه التوظيف والتدريب والترقيات والدعم الإيجابي، الخ...

 

المستوى التشغيلي
على المستوى التشغيلي، يستبعد أن يتمكن مدير مكتب الإحصاء الوطني من العمل على الـ NSDSبدوام كامل، لذا عليه أن يختار واحداً من أعضاء طاقمه من ذوي الرتب العالية والمتحمسين كي يترأس فريق تصميم الـ NSDS(منسق NSDS يعمل كـ"عنصر تغيير" ويقدم نموذجاً ومحفزًا للآخرين). يحرص المدير على أن الشروط المتعلقة بمنسق الـ NSDS محددة جيدًا، بما يشمل رفع التقارير الدورية إلى المدير وأن لديه ما يكفي من الوقت ومهارات التنظيم من أجل مراقبة هيكليات التصميم التنظيمية (الخاصة بحالة ما والدائمة) وأنه يستشير أصحاب المصلحة الرئيسيين ويطلعهم على المعلومات. كما يجب إدارة عمليات الاستشارة وكأننا نبني التوافق تدريجياً. ويمكن اللجوء لخدمات الاستشارة من أجل دعم الفريق، ولكن ليس لتحلّ محله.

إذًا يتخذ مدير مكتب الإحصاء الوطني القرارات الرئيسية التي تقود إلى فريق تصميم فريق فعّال ومنسق جيداً في ما خص علاقاته بكلّ اللجان ومجموعات العمل (انظر ج. الإعداد). من المهم جداً أن يتمكن الفريق المختار من العمل مع الـ NSDSبشغف وشكل خلاق. ويجب أن تتم إعادة تعيين أفراد الطاقم البارعين المتوفرين للعمل على NSDS لدوام كامل كي يركزوا على الـ NSD.

وهنا تبرز أكثر أهمية الدور المناط بمدير مكتب الإحصاء الوطني. فيتعين عليه إدارة الطاقم بفعالية وبشكل مستمر، وهي خطوة ضرورية لضمان تصميم استراتيجية ناجحة وتطبيقها. وتشتمل إدارة الناس تقرير الشؤون المتعلقة بحاجات التصميم، وكيفية ملء الشواغر من ضمن الميزانية، والتوظيف، وتوجيه الموظفين وتدريبهم، وضمان أدائهم بشكل جيد.

توفر عملية NSDS فرصةً جيدةً لمدير مكتب الإحصاء الوطني لمعالجة المشاكل مثل دوران الموظفين- الذي يعتبر من المشاكل التي تسبب شلل مكاتب الإحصاء في الدول بطور النموّ، إلى جانب قلة التحفيز، والتوصل إلى حلول ملائمة من خلال مقاربة ملائمة للموارد البشرية . فالموظفون المحفزون جيداً يكونون أكثر انتاجيةً وأكثر احتمالاً للبقاء مع مكتب الإحصاء الوطني.

وعدا عن العوامل المالية المتعلقة بالتحفيز (الأجور، الوقت الإضافي، التقديمات) يجب أخذ حاجات أخرى تتعلق بالثقة بالنفس في عين الاعتبار. فمن الجيد مثلاً تحسين أوضاع الإحصائيين وإنشاء وضعية خاصة بهم. يجب كذلك ضمان التواصل على كافة المستويات مع كلّ الموظفين- بما يتيح المجال أمام الأسئلة والتعليقات، وتشجيع الابتكار/التنوع في وجهات النظر والمحاسبة- من أجل توفير بيئة عمل جذابة بشكل عام. 

في الممارسة

من ومتى
إن القيادة الفعّالة لـ NSS، بما فيه مكتب الإحصاء الوطني، أساسية لتصميم الـ NSDSوتطبيقها في كامل المنظومة الوطنية للإحصاء. ويتعين على قانون الإحصاء أن يؤمّن ضمانات قانونية تسهم في منع تعيين مدير مكتب الإحصاء الوطني أو إقالته عشوائيًا. فلا يكفي أن يكون بارعًا في الإحصاء فحسب بل يجب ان يتمتع أيضًا بغرائز إدارية ومهارات قيادية، ويحافظ على علاقات جيدة مع الحكومة. ويجب على مدير مكتب الإحصاء الوطني ان يشكّل نموذجًا يعكس صورة مكتب الإحصاء الوطني و NSS ونزاهتهما ومهنيتهما.

وهنا لا بدّ من الإشارة إلى أن المدير ليس بالضرورة قائدًا جيدًا والعكس صحيح. فإن كان مدير مكتب الإحصاء الوطني قائدًا جيدًا ولكن يعجز عن إدارة بعض المسائل، فإن جزءًا من السياسية يجب أن يقوم على تحديد الشخص الملائم لمساعدته (مثلاً نائب مدير يتمتع بمهارات قيادية عالية).

وتعتبر الإدارة عملاً بالغ الأهمية، من مرحلة التصميم إلى مرحلة تطبيق الـ NSD.

كيف
إن التدابير التنظيمية التي نتحدث عنها بالتفصيل في الفصل "ج. الإعداد" تشكّل نقطة بداية جيدة جدًا لضمان أساليب قيادة وإدارة تدعم استراتيجية NSDS وتشجع عمل الفريق المتعدد الوظائف والحال للمشاكل. وبعد مرحلة تصميم الـ NSD، يمكن جعل الفرق الدائمة التي تعقد اجتماعات بشكل منتظم جزئاً من NSO، مثل الفرق الإدارية التي تضمّ رؤساء الأقسام والوحدات المختصة تحت رئاسة مدير الـ NSO، وفرق الأقسام التي تضمّ رئيس القسم (الرئيس) ورؤساء الفروع والأقسام، واللجان الدائمة ومجموعات العمل المحددة والإحصاءات الزراعية (انظر المسائل المحددة). ويمكن كذلك إنشاء فرع تخطيط استراتيجي يعمل بدوام كامل في الـ NSOكجزء من التخطيط الاستراتيجي. وعدا عن العمل كأمانة عامة لإعداد الـ NSD، ستقوم أيضًا بمراقبة التطبيق ومراجعته. 

وعلى مدير الـ NSOأن يطبق مبادئ ترتكز على النتائج في ما خص تصميم NSDS، على أن يدير تطبيقه مع مؤشرات الأداء (مثلاً رضا المستخدم، دعم السياسات الوطنية، الحوكمة...) مع خطة التقارير والمراقبة والتقييم (انظر ه. المراقبة، التقييمـ، التقارير).

وسيكون من المهم أيضًا فهم مبادئ التحفيز جيدًا: المشاركة (يجب أن يشارك طاقم العمل في عملية صنع القرار في المسائل التي تؤثر عليهم بشكل مباشر)، التواصل (معرفة الطاقم بالسياق الذي يعملون فيه مهم جدًا كي يفهموا ويستعملوا حدسهم)، الإثناء (إن تلقى أعضاء الطاقم الإثناء على عمل يقومون بهم، سيصبحون متحمسين للعمل بجهد أكبر)، توكيل السلطة (تحسّن مكانة الطاقم وتسهم في التطور الشخصي). وعلى مدير NSO أن يأخذ هذه العوامل في عين الاعتبار حين يوافق على البرامج لتحفيز الطاقم.

يذكر أن التغيير لا يؤدي إلى تحسينات مباشرة بما أن الإجراءات الجديدة يجب أن تطور وتختبر ويجب الحصول على الموارد، الخ. لذا"المكسب السريع" يضيف النزاهة إلى القرارات المتعلقة بعملية ما حيث لا يمكن توقع تحسينات فورية. وهنا لا يجب المكافأة على النجاح المبكر (داخلياً) فحسب، بل أيضًا التشجيع عليه (خارجيًا) من خلال تطور البرنامج.

A. Managing

Managing, which implies both leadership and management, is a key essential step in the NSDS process - a process which brings change that has to be managed adequately. Effective leadership and good management are thus required at the political level, with efficient NSDS champions, but also at organisational and operational levels, with a well-managed and co-ordinated National Statistical System (NSS), aiming at a successful NSDS.

 

 

 

MANAGING CHANGE
Design and implementation of the NSDS might require that a number of changes be made — changes in work ethic, mindsets, organisational culture and structures, procedures in doing things, etc. Understanding and managing these changes and adopting a positive attitude towards them will enhance the chances of successful implementation of the strategy.

In reality, rather than being seen as a positive opportunity, change is most often resisted by people involved at various levels and this resistance is a threat to successful strategy implementation. Fear of failure in a new situation, insecurity when faced with new methodologies, lack of understanding of the need for change, and feeling of loss of status are among the leading causes for resistance to change. This is all the more true in developing countries where national statistical systems are often fragile, vulnerable, and understaffed.

Therefore, while planning change properly through clear identification of the areas to be improved and a realistic set of desired goals is important, it is not enough. Managing change is about managing people. It is about dealing with the skepticism of those to be affected by it — they should be given complete information and enough time to prepare effectively. People should have a chance to comment on the proposed changes and contribute to the planning. A convincing rationale for change should be proposed. Specific attention should be paid to those who think they will not benefit from the change or will lose out. Throughout the whole process, and at all levels, managing change will have to be considered as an essential part of the NSDS. Issues that are slowing down the development of the NSDS should be identified and solutions adopted by the NSS to move forward effectively.

Effective leadership is also required for managing change. Leadership — the art of motivating a group of people to act towards achieving a common goal — involves communicating with enthusiasm, inspiring and supervising, engaging in a strategic vision and planning, and setting an example to anticipate and embrace the necessary changes.

The NSDS process requires leadership and management at different levels – the political level, organisational level, and operational level.

 

Political level
Leadership at the political level is required to advocate for statistics, to create greater political will to develop and use statistics, to ensure that the NSDS process is relevant, and to make or endorse major decisions, for instance on reforming and restructuring the NSS, revising the statistical legislation, creating co-ordination arrangements, and investing in statistics. The level of engagement of high-level officials will depend on decision-making processes in each country. It is therefore key to find the right high-level policy or decision-makers who are sufficiently interested in statistics and willing to champion the NSDS and the various changes it implies for improving statistical development in the country. It requires a sensitisation to the role of statistics in decision-making vis-à-vis key members of the government.

Once the champions at this level have been identified, they should be encouraged to develop their interest in the NSDS processes. It is the NSO Director’s responsibility to manage relationships and interface with political leadership about the NSDS process, getting the identified champion(s) to attend one of the NSDS workshops and managing to keep interest high throughout the whole process. The NSO Director should seek to get involved and participate in national development discussions. His participation at this stage should aim at conferring to the development of the NSS a status of priority in the development strategy. There should be a focus on engaging primarily with the Minister of Finance and/or Planning, Permanent Secretary in the Ministry of Finance and/or Planning, the Minister in charge of statistics (See D. ADVOCATING) as champions of statistical development as their agencies are among the main government users of statistics in the country.

 

Organisational level
There is a need for strong leadership at the organisational level. After commitment at the highest level has been secured, the Director of the NSO must show strong leadership and take on the NSDS as a key process, and use appropriate co-ordination, technical management and leadership skills to establish the necessary institutional arrangements for the NSDS design (see C. PREPARATION).

Requirements on his/her time and efforts do not only concern the design phase but also the NSDS implementation stage when further management skills and new management styles will be required. It is the permanent responsibility of the Director of the NSO to internalise and champion the NSDS as a framework that will, if properly implemented, improve the entire NSS and change the course of statistical development in the country. As a manager, he/she will have to plan, budget, allocate necessary resources (through Project Management Tools), recognise skills, delegate responsibility and authority, establish structures and develop procedures to guide people. As a leader, he/she will have to establish and communicate direction, then develop a vision and the strategies to achieve it, inspiring commitment and delivery from staff.

Good management will include readiness to change a particular organisational culture - or “the unconscious forces that shape a workplace” - when necessary. In particular, the design of the NSDS should aim to build upon aspects of an existing culture that supports proposed new strategies. Those aspects of the existing culture that are antagonistic to the NSDS proposed strategy should be identified and changed. NSDS implementation could involve creating a new set of values (e.g. work ethic), value systems (e.g. code of conduct) and a performance-based culture that focuses on results and links everyone and every unit in the organisation to unique features of the strategy. Different techniques are available to alter an organisation’s culture including recruitment, training, promotion and positive reinforcement, etc.

 

Operational level
At the operational level, the NSO Director is unlikely to be able to work on the NSDS full-time and should select one of his/her more enthusiastic and able senior members of staff to head the NSDS design team (NSDS coordinator, to act as a “change agent”, an example and stimulus to others). The Director will ensure that the Terms of Reference of the NSDS co-ordinator are well defined, including frequent reporting to the Director, and that he/she has the necessary time and co-ordination skills to monitor the organisational design structures (ad hoc and permanent) and to keep all key stakeholders consulted and informed. Processes for consultation should be managed so as to build consensus progressively. Consulting services might be hired to support the team, but not to substitute for it.

The NSO Director will thus make those key decisions that will lead to a well-co-ordinated operational NSDS design team, in relation with all committees and working groups (See C. PREPARATION). It is also important that the selected team is able to work on the NSDS with passion and creativity. The very good staff members who would be available to work on NSDS full-time should be re-assigned to NSDS.

This is where the managing role of the NSO director is all the more important. He/she will have to manage staff efficiently and continuously, an important step to ensure successful strategy design and implementation. Managing people involves deciding on staffing needs, how to fill positions within budget, recruiting, orienting and training employees, and ensuring that they perform well.

The NSDS process is a good opportunity for the NSO director to tackle problems such as high level of staff turnover - a paralysing issue in statistical offices in developing countries- and poor motivation, and find adequate solutions through an adequate human resources approach. Staff who are motivated are more productive and are more likely to stay within the NSO.

Apart from financial factors of motivation (wages, overtime, perks), there are also self-esteem needs that have to be taken into account. Improving the status of the statisticians or create a specific status for them could be helpful. Ongoing communication at all levels and with all staff should be ensured -allow for questions and comments; encourage innovation/diversity of views and accountability - to create an overall attractive work environment.

 

In practice

Who and When
Effective leadership of the NSS, including the NSO, being critical for the design and implementation of the NSDS throughout the entire National Statistical System, the NSO Director has a fundamental role to play, in particular in a centralized statistical system. The Statistics Act should provide legal safeguards to prevent arbitrary appointment and dismissal of the NSO Director. He/she should not only be proficient in statistics but also embody managerial instincts and leadership skills, and maintain good relations with the government. The NSO Director should set the example, reflecting the image, integrity and professionalism of the NSO and NSS.

A manager is not necessarily a good leader and vice-versa. If the NSO director is a good leader but cannot manage certain issues, part of the strategy would be to identify the right person to help him/her (ex: a deputy director with good management skills).

Managing is a essential task, going from the design phase to implementation of the NSDS.

How
The organisational arrangements, developed in detail in the C. PREPARATION chapter are a very good start to ensure leadership and management styles supportive of the NSDS strategy, encouraging cross-functional and problem-solving teamwork. After the design phase of the NSDS, permanent teams with regular meetings can be internalised within the NSO such as Management teams comprising heads of departments and specialized units under the chairpersonship of the Director of the NSO; Departmental Teams, comprised by the Head of the Department (as chair) and Heads of Divisions and Sections ; Standing Committees and specific working groups can be established to handle specific cross-functional tasks, such as trade statistics and agricultural statistics (see SPECIFIC ISSUES). A full time Strategic Planning Division in the NSO could also be created as strategic planning is an on-going function. Apart from serving as Secretariat for the preparation of the NSDS, it will monitor and review its implementation. 

The NSO Director should apply result-based management principles to the NSDS design and manage its implementation with performance indicators (ex: user satisfaction, support to national policies, governance…) and with a reporting, monitoring and evaluation plan (see E. MONITORING, EVAL. REPORTING).

A good understanding of the principles of motivation will be necessary – participation (staff should be involved in decision-making and in matters which directly affect them); communication (staff knowing the context in which they work is important for them to understand and be incentivised); recognition (if staff members receive recognition for work done, they will be inclined and motivated to work harder); and delegated authority (enhances the position of staff, contributes to personal development). The NSO Director should bear these factors in mind when approving programmes to motivate staff.

Change does not lead to immediate improvements as new procedures need to be developed and tested, resources need to be obtained, etc. “Quick wins” will therefore add credibility to the decisions of a process where immediate improvements cannot be expected. Early successes should not only be rewarded (internally) but also promoted (externally) throughout the evolution of the project.