استراتيجيات مناطقية لتطوير الإحصائيات

في إرشادات NSDS ، يعني مصطلح "المناطقية" منطقة او اقليم ينتمي الى دولة ما، لا يرتقي لمستوى القومي، فيما يُستخدم مصطلح "الاقليمي" لتصنيف مجموعة من الدول (انظر إلى الاستراتيجيات الإقليمية لتطوير الإحصاؤات). ترتكز الاحصاءات المناطقية، في البلدان المختلفة من حيث المساحة والأنظمة الادارية على وجود مجموعات شعبية فرعية، هي ذات أهمية للنظام الاحصائي في حال كانت تشّكل قسمًا من السكان الذين يعيشون في جغرافيا و/او نظام حكم معيّن للإقليم الوطني. يمكن وانطلاقاً من الأنظمة الادارية للبلد، ان يشار الى الاقاليم المناطقية بالولايات الفيدرالية أو البلدان أو المحافظات أو المقاطعات أو الدائرة من بين مصطلحات اخرى. في بعض الحالات، يمكن ان تستقل هذه الكيانات المناطقية عن الحكومة بحيث تكوّن أولوياتها الخاصة وتشكّل مؤسساتها المستقّلة ويكون لها مستويات مختلفة من القدرات. بالنتيجة من المهم ان تطوّر كل من تلك الاقاليم المناطقية استراتيجياتها الخاصّة لتطوير الاحصاءات للاستجابة بشكل أفضل للمسائل الخاصة بالمستوى المحلي. عندها سيتم طرح المسائل المتشابكة للمنتطق على مستوى قومي من خلال الاستراتيجية الوطنية لتطوير الاحصاءات (NSDS). 
 

أهمية أنظمة الاحصاءات المناطقية ?

  • إن استراتيجيات التنمية معدّة ومطبَّقة أكثر فأكثر على المستويين الإقليمي والمحلي.
  • تعتمد استراتيجيات التنمية العالمية، والإقليمية، والوطنية والمحلية على خصائص سكانية أكثر دقةً.
  • ثمة طلب قوي على البيانات المجموعة التي توفّر قاعدةً سليمةً للسياسات الانتقائية، باستهداف أجزاء محددة من السكان.
  • تتطلب استراتيجيات القضاء على الفقر تعريفاً دقيقاً عن من وأين هم الفقراء في القرارات الأساسية الطويلة الأمد والبرمجية التي تستهدف مناطق جغرافيةً محددةً.
  • إن لم يكن محدداً بشكل مناسب، يمكن للنمو الاقتصادي السريع إخفاء حوادث الفقر وعدم المساواة السائدة على المستوى المناطقي.

كيفية وضع استراتيجية مناطقية لتنمية الإحصاءات

كما ذكر آنفا، فإن الأقاليم المناطقية تختلف من بلد إلى آخر. وقد يعني هذا أيضا الاختلافات بين خطط التنمية المناطقية وخطط التنمية الإحصائية المناطقية. فمن دون أن تعني بالضرورة أن حجما واحدا يناسب الجميع، يمكن وضع الاستراتيجية المناطقية لتطوير الإحصاءات بخمس خطوات وإدماجها في عملية NSDS من خلال: (1) بناء الشراكات واعتماد المبادئ الاستراتيجية؛ '2' تصنيف الوحدات الإقليمية؛ (3) إنشاء تقييمات للاحتياجات؛ (4) وضع إطار الإنتاج؛ (5) إدماج الاستراتيجية المناطقية لتطوير الإحصاءات في الاستراتيجية الوطنية للتنمية المستدامة الى NSDS.

1.  بناء الشراكات واعتماد المبادئ الاستراتيجية
 
ينبغي أن يكون تطوير البيانات المناطقية مسعى تعاونيا حيث يمكن بناء شراكات مرنة وفعالة. وستعزز هذه الشراكات المشاركة المحلية وتزيد من استخدام البيانات المجتمعية وتوريدها مع مراعاة الاحتياجات والظروف والقدرات المختلفة. ويتوقع من جميع الأطراف المعنية أن تلتزم بمبادئ الشركات الفرعية عند تنفيذ الأنشطة الإحصائية المناطقية. وتشمل عملية تشكيل المساعي التعاونية ما يلي:

1.1.  عملية الشراكة

  • مراجعة جميع التشريعات التي تحمل تلميحات صريحة أو ضمنية على الأنظمة الإحصائية المناطقية
  • تحديد فئات أصحاب المصلحة الرئيسيين: صناع القرار على المستويات الوطنية والقطاعية والمحلية؛ ومستخدمي البيانات والمنتجين على جميع المستويات، بما في ذلك المنظمات الدولية والإقليمية والأجنبية؛ المؤسسات الرسمية - الرسمية وغير الرسمية؛ والأوساط الأكاديمية والمجموعات البحثية؛ ووسائل الإعلام والاتصالات
  • تحديد وتعيين الشركاء المحتملين ضمن كل فئة
  • الاستفادة من نظم الإدارة المجتمعية
  • إعداد اطار عمل للشراكة.

1.2.  المبادئ الاستراتيجية

وفي إطار تنسيق مكتب الإحصاءات الوطني، سيوافق الشركاء على عدد من المبادئ التوجيهية لاستكمال وتعزيز تطوير النظام الإحصائي المناطقي بما يتفق مع الترتيبات الإحصائية والمؤسسية للبلد.

  1. تحديد الاختصاصات: منظومة مناطقية يمكن تحديدها من خلال منطقة جغرافية، أو بيانات حول مجموعة وحدات ذات أهمية أو تشكيل مؤسسي
  2. الاعتراف القانوني: إحصائيات وطنية أو مناطقية تعترف بوكالات إحصاء مناطقية قائمة كمجمّعين أوليين و/أو أمناء على الإحصاءات المناطقية
  3. تبعية ذات اتجاهَين: تحديد النشاطات التي تخضع لقيادة فضلى من قبل وكالات مناطقية أو NSO أو مكاتب إحصائيات في القطاع
  4. المشاركة الإحصائية: الاعتراف بأدوار مجموعات مختلفة من المجتمع المحلي في جمع وإعداد بيانات سواء بشكل رسمي أو لا
  5. وثاقة الصلة المحلية: تقييم توفر وجودة بيانات مناطقية حول تحقيق أهداف التنمية المناطقية.


2.
  تصنيف الوحدات الإقليمية

سوف يتم تصميم الاستراتيجيات المناطقية على أساس البنية الهرمية للإدارة المحلية. ويسهّل وجود هذه التصنيفات تحديد النطاقات المناطقية وتقييم توفر الإحصائيات المناطقية. ومن المهم تحديد عما إذا كانت هذه التصنيفات:

  • تغطي كافة الوحدات الإقليمية التي هي من المستوى ذاته في البلد
  • لا تقتصر على مستوى محدد في التقسيم الإداري للبلد إلى طبقات
  • تخلو من التكرار
  • تغطي وتعالج الوحدات الإقليمية على قدم من المساواة


3.
  تقييم الاحتياجات

يجب على عملية تطوير الاستراتيجية الإحصائية المناطقية أن تضمن تلبية حاجات مستخدمي الإحصائيات، وذلك من خلال:

  1. تحديد مستخدمي الإحصائيات المناطقية: قد يكون هؤلاء المستخدمون محدّدين أصلاً في المنظومة الإحصائية الوطنية؛ أو مستخدمين محليّين مهتمّين بالإحصائيات المحلية؛ أو منظماتٍ دوليةً مهتمةً بالتنمية المجتمعية؛ أو مجتمعات اقتصادية إقليمية تتضمن مهمتها نشاطاتٍ عبر الحدود، مثل التجارة، والهجرة، والأوبئة الصحية، والسلام والأمن إلخ.
  2. فئات الحاجات: بالإضافة إلى الحاجات المحددة في NSDS، يجب تحديد الحاجات الخاصة للمناطق المحلية من أجل تغطية كافة أهداف التنمية والإدارة. وبذلك يمكن تحقيق توازن بين جداول الأعمال العالمية والإقليمية والوطنية والمحلية
  3. إعداد المؤشرات المناطقية: يجب إعداد قائمة من المؤشرات أو بيانات التعريف لكل حاجة أو فئة حاجات. وتجدر الإشارة أيضاً إلى أن بعض الحاجات قد تتطلب مؤشراتٍ عديدةً في حين أن مؤشراً واحداً قد يسري هو أيضاً على حاجات عديدة
  4. تحديد فجوات البيانات: تحديد المؤشرات التي يجب إنشاؤها بين تلك المحددة أعلاه، مع التحديد عما إذا كانت متوفرةً بصورة منتظمة أو على مستوى مكاني محدد أو على مستوى مناطقي ومن أين يمكن الحصول على المؤشر. كذلك، يمكن الحصول على البيانات عبر سجلات إدارية من مؤسسات عامة أو عبر سجلات خاصة شخصية لبيانات ومعلومات عامة. وتحتاج البيانات للخضوع لتقييم الجودة وفحص السرّية قبل استخدامها
  5. التدقيق في الحاجات: يجب إجراء عملية تدقيق في الحاجات المحلية على الصعيد المحلي


4.
  وضع إطار الإنتاج

أثناء تحديد إطار الإنتاج لإعداد الإحصائيات المناطقية، من الضروري جداً إدراك مواطن الضعف والقوة لمختلف وكالات الإحصائيات عبر البلاد، من حيث التوظيف، والخبرة، والبنى التحتية الفنية والإحصائية. ويمكن لهذه المؤسسات تأدية أدوار مختلفة عبر المنظومة الإحصائية الوطنية.

مثلاً، يمكن قيادة مسح في منطقة محلية محددة؛ يمكن تصميم المنهجية على مستوى NSO المركزي؛ يمكن لهيئة إحصائيات في المنطقة المحلية تجمع البيانات الميدانية؛ يمكن أن يخضع المسح لإشراف على مستوى أعلى من قبل مكتب إحصاء إقليمي؛ يمكن أن تحصل المصادقة والمعالجة في منطقة مختلفة إلخ.


5.
  دمج الاستراتيجية المناطقية لتطوير الإحصائيات في NSDS

أثناء تحديد الحاجات لبيانات مناطقية، من الضروري جداً التمييز بين فئتين من الحاجات المتقاطعة: الحاجات ذات الأهمية المحلية، وتلك ذات الصلة الوطنية. بالنسبة إلى الفئة الأولى، يجب تشجيع الحكومات المحلية على تطوير استراتيجياتها المناطقية الخاصة لتطوير الإحصائيات (SubNSDS). وقد يشمل ذلك الهيئات المحلية ذات السيادة من الحكومة الوطنية. وسوف تدخل SubNSDS ضمن عملية NSDS.

أما الفئة الثانية فتشمل الحاجات المشتركة لكافة أو مختلف الأراضي/المناطق المحلية أو تلك المتعلقة بإقليم واحد أو منطقة محلية إنما تُعتبر ذات أهمية وطنية. وسوف يتم تحديد هذه الحاجات على مستوى وطني بالتشاور مع هيئات إقليمية ومحلية. وسوف ينتج العنصر المناطقي الإجمالي لـNSDSعن توثيق SubNSDS من جهة، والعنصر المناطقي المطوَّر على مستوى وطني من جهة أخرى.

Subnational Strategies for the Development of Statistics

Another important element or building block of the National Statistical System is the subnational statistical system. Not all countries require a sub-national statistical system due to either size or administrative arrangements. However, the importance of subnational statistics rests on the existence of subpopulations within a country. A subpopulation is of interest in the statistical system if it is a portion or part of national population that lives in the same identifiable geographical and/or administrative subdivision of national territory. They share common and distinguishing characteristics related to the local area where they live. These are the geographical, economic, social, administrative, and environmental circumstances of their local area.Depending on the administrative arrangements of the country, these can either be referred to as federal states or regions or counties or governorates or provincesor districts etc.It is also important to note that in some instances, these sub-national entities have their own sovereignty thereby setting their own priorities which need to be included in the NSDS. 

 

Why subnational statistics systems matter ?

  • Development strategies are more and more being prepared and implemented at regional and local levels.
  • Global, regional, national and local level development strategies rely on more and more precise profiles of the population.
  • There is a strong demand for disaggregated data which will provide sound base for selective policies, targeting specific fractions of the population.
  • Poverty eradication strategies require precise identification of who and where are the poor to base long-term and programmatic decisions targeting specific geographic areas.
  • If not properly identified, rapid economic growth may hide incidences of poverty and inequalities prevailing at subnational level.

 

How to develop a Subnational Strategy for the Development of Statistics

The subnational strategy for the development of statistics may be developed in five steps embedded in the NSDS process itself: (i) adoption of strategic principles; (ii) stratification of territorial units; (iii) needs assessments; (iv) setting the production framework under which data needs will be met; (v) consolidation of local strategies into a unified subnational strategy.

1.    Adoption of Strategic principles
 
A number of guiding principles may complement and reinforce development of the subnational statistics system and may be customized according to country’s statistical and institutional arrangements. These may include:

  1. Jurisdictional delineation – A subnational system may be defined by geographical area, or data of a group of units of interest or institutional set-up
  2. Legal recognition - National or subnational statistics act acknowledging existing subnational statistics agencies as primary compilers and/or custodians of subnational statistics
  3. Two-way subsidiarity - Identifying activities that are better conducted by subnational agencies and those better conducted by the NSO or sector statistics offices
  4. Statistical participation - Recognizing the roles of various groups of local society in collecting and producing data whether formally or not
  5. Local relevance - Assessing the availability and quality of subnational data with respect to meeting subnational development objectives.

 

2.    Classification of territorial units

Sub-national strategies will be designed on the basis of the hierarchical structure of local administration. Existence of such classifications makes it easier to identify subnational areas and assess the availability of subnational statistics. It is important to determine whether such classifications:

  1. Cover all territorial units of same level in the country
  2. Not limited to a particular level in a country’s administrative stratification
  3. Not redundant
  4. Covers and treats territorial units equally

 

3.    Needs Assessment

Development of subnational statistical strategy should ensure meeting needs of users of statistics by:

  1. Identification of users of subnational statistics: These users can either be those already identified in the national statistical system; or local users interested in local statistics; or international organizations interested in community development; or regional economic communities whose mandate include cross-border activities such as trade, migration, health epidemics, peace and security etc.
  2. Categories of needs: In addition to the needs identified in the NSDS, special needs of local areas must be identified with a view to covering all development and management objectives
  3. Subnational indicators to be generated: For each need or category of needs, a list of indicators and metadata should be prepared. It is important to note that a particular need may require several indicators and one indicator may also have several needs
  4. Identifying data gaps: Identify which indicators will be generated among those selected above determining whether they are available on a regular basis or at a particular spatial or subnational level and where the indicator can be obtained from. Data may be obtained from administrative records from public institutions or from privately owned records of public data and information. The data need to undergo quality assessment and confidentiality checks before use
  5. Verification of the needs: A verification process of the local needs should be done at the local level


4.    Setting the production framework

In determining the framework for the production of subnational statistics there is a need to recognize the differing strengths and weaknesses of the various statistical agencies across the country in terms of staffing, expertise, statistical and technical infrastructures. Different roles can be performed by different institutions across the national statistical system.

For instance, a particular survey to be conducted in a particular local area, the methodology can be designed at the NSO central level; field data collection can be carried out by the local area statistical agency; survey supervision can be performed at a higher level by a regional statistics office; validation and processing can take place in a different region,etc.

 

5.    Integrating the Subnational Strategy for the Development of Statistics into the NSDS

While identifying the needs for subnational data, a distinction will be established between two categories of intersecting needs: those of local interest and those of national relevance. As regards the first category, local governments should be encouraged to develop their own Subnational Strategies for the Development of Statistics (SubNSDS). This may also include those local entities that are sovereign from the national government. The SubNSDS will feed into the NSDS process.

The second category includes needs that are common to all or several regions/local areas or are related to only one region or local area but are deemed of national interest. These needs will be identified at national level in consultation with regional and local bodies. The overall subnational component of the NSDS will result from the consolidation of SubNSDS on the one hand and the subnational component developed at national level on the other hand.