الدول الهشّة

الدول الهشّة

ما هي الدولة الهشّة؟

وفقاً لمنظمة التعاون الاقتصادي والتنمية، فإن المنطقة أو الدولة الهشّة لديها قدرات ضعيفة على القيام بوظائف الحوكمة الأساسية وتفتقر إلى القدرة على تطوير علاقات بناءة متبادلة مع المجتمع. كما أن المناطق أو الدول الهشّة تعتبر أيضاً أكثر ضعفاً على صعيد الصدمات الداخلية أو الخارجية مثل الأزمات الاقتصادية أو الكوارث الطبيعية (1). وتشير الهشاشة إلى طيف واسع من الحالات: دول تعاني من أزمات، ودول في حروب، وسياق إعادة الإعمار، والأزمات الإنسانية والطبيعية وحالات الفقر المدقع.

هذا وتساعد مؤشرات الضعف والهشاشة على تعريف الدول التي تعتبر هشّة.

  1. المؤشرات السياسية وهي تشمل نزع شرعية الدولة، والتدهور التدريجي للخدمات العامة، وانتهاك واسع النطاق لحقوق الإنسان، والأجهزة الأمنية التي أصبحت "دولة ضمن دولة"، وصعود النخب المتحزّبة وتدخّل دول أخرى أو عوامل خارجية.
  2. مؤشرات اجتماعية وهي تشمل الضغوط الديموغرافية، والنزوح الجماعي لللاجئين، والنازحين داخلياً، وإرث الظلم الجماعي الساعي إلى الثأر، والهروب البشري المزمن والمستدام، والرفاه ونوعية الحياة.
  3. المؤشرات الاقتصادية والتي تشمل التنمية الاقتصادية المتفاوتة والتي تؤثر على شرائح من الشعب.
  4. المؤشرات البيئية والتي تعكس خطر الكوارث الناجمة عن قوى أو ظواهر طبيعية و/أو التفاعل بين البعد البيئي والأنشطة البشرية.

وقد قام البنك الدولي والبنك الآسيوي للتنمية والبنك الأفريقي للتنمية بإعداد قائمة منسّقة للدول الهشّة ويتم تحديثها كل عام. وتعود القائمة المذكورة هنا إلى عام 2015. وتغطّي القائمة 33 دولة من بينها 17 دولة أفريقية. إلا أنه ومنذ عام 2015 وفيما يتصل بالتحضير لأجندة التنمية المستدامة لعام 2030 (أهداف التنمية المستدامة 16)، تم تحديد مقاربة جديدة للهشاشة (2). وهي تنطبق على جميع الدول وتعتمد على خمسة أبعاد: أ- العنف، ب- العدالة، ج- مؤسسات خاضعة للمساءلة وشاملة للجميع؛ د- الإدماج الاقتصادي والاستقرار؛ ه- القدرة على التكيّف مع الصدمات الاجتماعية والاقتصادية والبيئية والكوارث. ويتم بعد ذلك تقديم قائمة بالدول الخمسين الأكثر ضعفاً (3):

 (1) منظمة التعاون الاقتصادي والتنمية: حشد الإيرادات المحلية في الدول الهشّة. تقوم منظمة التعاون الاقتصادي والتنمية كل عام منذ سنة 2005 بنشر تقرير حول الدول الهشة. الرجاء الاطلاع على تقرير: "الدول الهشّة 2015: تحقيق طموحات ما بعد 2015".
 
(2) المرجع نفسه.
(3) المرجع نفسه

الدول الهشة والاستراتيجية الوطنية لتطوير الإحصائيات

خلال فترات النزاعات، قد يكون التحضير لاستراتيجية وطنية لتطوير الإحصائيات غير ممكن. وفي الحالات الأخرى، ينبغي وضع هذه الاستراتيجية مع الأخذ في الحسبان تخفيف المخاطر، وحماية الأصول الإحصائية والفعلية، وحماية البيانات من خلال نسخ احتياطي خارج الموقع والتحضير لحالة ما بعد النزاعات لدى العودة إلى "الاستقرار والوضع الطبيعي".

يختلف التحضير لاستراتيجية وطنية لتطوير الإحصائيات في الدول الهشّة وفقاً للسياق السائد في الدولة موضوع المراجعة. وينبغي التفكير في حالتين أساسيتين:

  • إعادة الإعمار
    بعد العودة إلى "الوضع الطبيعي"، ينبغي وضع حلول لمرحلة ما بعد النزاع تهدف إلى استعادة المنظومة الإحصائية. ويعتبر وضع كل دولة متميزاّ استناداً إلى طبيعة النزاع ومدى الضرر الذي لحق بالمنظومة الاحصائية خلال فترة النزاع. وقد يكون من الضروري وضع الاستراتيجية الوطنية لتطوير الإحصائية كآلية لإعادة بناء الموارد البشرية والأصول الفعلية حين يكون الضرر الذي لحق بالمؤسسات الإحصائية وأصول البيانات للدول واسع النطاق. إلّا أنه وفي جميع الحالات، تعتبر الاستفادة من الأصول التي تم إنقاذها من النزاع الخطوة الأولى من إعادة الإعمار الأساسية للنظام الإحصائي. وستكون المسألة الأولى التحضير لتشخيص تأثير الأزمة على الأشخاص الأكثر تضرراً(النازحين مثلاً)، عوامل الإنتاج المتوافر، والمرافق العامة(المدارس، المستشفيات)، والبنية التحتية بما أن إعادة الإعمار تحتاج إلى إشارة محددة إلى ما هو قائم. ويشمل التشخيص تقييم القدرات المتبقية للمنظومة الإحصائية الوطنيةولسجلات البيانات المتاحة.
     
  • الوقاية
    ينبغي أن يتضمن تحضير استراتيجية وطنية لتطوير الإحصائيات في دولة هشّة تشخيصاً للوضع السائد بخصوص مصادر الهشاشة. وينبغي تخصيص جزء مهم ومحدد من الاستراتيجية الوطنية لتطوير الإحصائيات للمتغيرات التي تتحكم بالهشاشة، وتشير الهشاشة إلى أن الدولة المعنية تواجه مخاطر مهمةً وأن نظام المعلومات ينبغي أن يأخذ في الحسبان بشكل دوري وضع المتغيرات التي تعكس المخاطر. كما يجب أن تتضمن الاستراتيجية الوطنية لتطوير الإحصائية نظاماً لرصد المخاطر التي تواجه الدولة وفقاً لمجموعة من المؤشرات المناسبة. وفي حال عدم توافر المؤشرات، ينبغي أن تحدد الاستراتيجية الوطنية لتطوير الإحصائيات مقاربةًً لتزويد صناع القرار والجهات المعنية الرئيسية بالمعلومات اللازمة لصنع القرار. وقد يكون نظام المعلومات المذكور(الذي قد يكون مدخلاً لنظام تنبيه) متطلباً للغاية بالنسبة للدول الهشة التي تكون غالباً دولاً فقيرة. وقد يكون المستوى الإقليمي أكثر ملاءمةً للاستجابة لتحديات الضعف وهو وضع قد يكون مشتركاً بين دول مختلفة في المنطقة(على سبيل المثال المخاطر الطبيعية أو البيئية في جزر المحيط الهادئ). وتعتبر الاستراتيجية الوطنية لتطوير الإحصائيات أداة لتفادي المخاطر المرتبطة بالدول التي تعتبر في مرحلة إعادة الإعمار. وينطبق تشجيع الأرشفة الافتراضية للنسخ الاحتياطي للبيانات وحمايتها على دول في مرحلة إعادة الإعمار ودول هشّة خاصة وأن الدول الآنفة الذكر قد تكون أيضاً دولاً هشّة.
     
  • اعتبارات محددة أخرى
    • قد يكون الرصد والتقييم بشكل دوري أكثر داخل البلاد وبالنسبة لعملية بناء القدرات بالتعاون مع منظمات إقليمية ضروري وبالتالي ينبغي التفكير في إطار زمني أقصر بالنسبة للاستراتيجية الوطنية لتطوير الإحصائية مع نقاط تقييم أكثر تواتراً.

    • ينبغي أن تركّز المؤشرات الواردة في الاستراتيجية الوطنية لتطوير الإحصائيات على الإحصائيات الأساسية وخاصة الحد الأدنى من الاحصائيات الاقتصادية الواردة في السجل العالمي للمعايير الإحصائية الصادرة عن معهد الإحصاء التابع لمنظمة الأمم المتحدة إضافة إلى مؤشرات حيوية مصممة لرصد الانتعاش.

    • يكتسي نشر البيانات أهمية على نحو خاص في الدول الهشّة. وقد يكون إنشاء منصة لوضع البيانات في متناول المنظّمات والمساهمة في التنسيق الميداني، مفيداً بما أن جهات فاعلة غير حكومية عديدة قد تشارك في أنشطة إعادة الإعمار.

    • ستحتاج الدول الهشّة إلى دعم تقني ومالي محدد من قبل المجتمع الدولي بغية مواجهة التحديات المرتبطة بالهشاشة.

Fragile states

FRAGILE STATES

What is a fragile state?

According to the OECD “a fragile region or state has weak capacities to carry out basic governance functions, and lacks the ability to develop mutually constructive relations with society. Fragile regions or states are also more vulnerable to internal or external shocks such as economic crisis or natural disaster” (1) .  Fragility refers to a wide array of situation: countries in crisis, countries at war, reconstruction context, humanitarian and natural crises, situations of extreme poverty.

Indicators of fragility and vulnerability help define the countries considered as fragile.

  1. Political Indicators which cover the de-legitimisation of the state, progressive deterioration of the public service, widespread violation of human rights, security apparatus as ‘state within a state’, rise of factionalised elites and intervention of other states or external factors.
  2. Social Indicators which cover demographic pressures, massive movement of refugees and internally displaced peoples, legacy of vengeance-seeking group grievance, chronic and sustained human flight, wellbeing and quality of life.
  3. Economic Indicators which cover uneven economic development affecting fractions of the population.
  4. Environmental indicators reflecting the risks of disasters generated by natural forces and/or interaction between the environmental dimension and human activities.

A harmonized list of “fragile states” has been set up by the World Bank, the Asian Development Bank and the African Development Bank and it is updated every year. The one included here is from 2015. The list covers 33 countries of which 17 are African. However, since 2015 and linked to the preparation of the 2030 Agenda (SDG 16), a new approach to fragility has been defined (2). It applies to all countries and relies on five dimensions: (i) violence; (ii) Justice; (iii) Accountable and inclusive institutions; (iv) economic inclusion and stability; (v) Capacity to adapt to social, economic and environmental shocks and disasters. A list of the 50 most vulnerable states is then presented (3):

 (1) OECD 2014 :Domestic revenue mobilisation in fragile states. OECD publishes on an annual basis since 2005 a report on fragile states. See “Fragile states 2015: Meeting the post 2015 ambitions”.
 
(2) Ibidem.
(3) Ibidem

Fragile states and NSDS

During the time of conflict, the preparation of an NSDS may be out of reach. Otherwise, NSDS must be constructed considering risk mitigation, protection of physical and statistical assets, data preservation through offsite backup, and preparation for the post-conflict situation returning to “normalcy”.

Preparation of a NSDS in fragile states will differ according to the context which is prevailing in the country under review. Two main situations should be considered:

  • Reconstruction
    After a return to “normalcy”, solutions to post-conflict situation aimed at restoring the statistical system would be undertaken. Each country situation is idiosyncratic depending on the nature of the conflict and the extent of damage which the statistical system has suffered during the period of conflict. The NSDS may need to be conceived as a mechanism for the reconstruction of human resources and physical assets where damage to the statistical institutions and data assets of the state has been extensive. In every case, however, building on assets which were “saved” from the conflict will be the first step to the ultimate reconstruction of the statistical system. The first concern will be the preparation of a diagnosis of the impact of the crisis on the most affected people (displaced people…), the factors of production available, the facilities (schools, hospitals…) and infrastructure, as reconstruction needs precise reference on the existing. The diagnosis will entail the assessment of the remaining capacities of the NSS and of the data archives which are available.
     
  • Prevention
    The preparation of a NSDS in a fragile state should entail a diagnosis of the situation prevailing regarding the sources of fragility. In the NSDS, a specific and important place should be given to the variables commanding fragility. Fragility means that the country faces important risks and the information system should take into account on a regular basis the situation of the variables reflecting the risks. The NSDS should include a monitoring system of the risks faced by the country, based on a set of appropriate indicators. When the indicators are not available, the NSDS should define an approach to provide the deciders and the main stakeholders with the informationneeded to take decisions. Such an information system (input for an alert system) may be very demanding for fragile states, which are often poor countries. The regional level may be more appropriate to respond to the challenges of vulnerability, a situation which may be shared by various countries in a region (for instance, natural or environmental risks in the Pacific Islands).The NSDS as a tool to prevent risks is relevant for countries in reconstruction. And the promotion of virtual archives to backup and protect data applies to countries in reconstruction and to fragile states, the former being also fragile states.
     
  • Other special considerations
    • Monitoring and evaluation on a more regular basis in-country and for the long-term process of capacity building in collaboration with regional organisations might be necessary and hence a shorter time frame for the NSDS could be considered with more frequent assessment points.

    • The indicators included in the NSDS should focus on core statistics in particular the minimum set of economic statistics outlined by the Global Inventory of Statistical Standards of the United Nations Statistics Division as well as critical indicators designed to monitor recovery.

    • Data dissemination will be particularly important in fragile states. The creation of a platform to make data available to organizations and contribute to coordination on the ground can be useful as multiple non-state actors may be involved in reconstruction activities.

    • Fragile states will need specific technical and financial support from the international community in order to face the challenges linked to fragility.