الإعداد> فريق التصميم

إلى جانب القيادة السياسية، تحتاج الـ NSDS إلى الإدارة التقنية والقيادة من أجل تنسيق تصميم الاستراتيجية، والعمل عن كثب مع الطاقم وأصحاب المصلحة الآخرين في الـ NSS.

 
إن فريق التصميم المركزي الخاص بالـ NSDS الذي يكون في المبدأ متصلاً بلجنة العمل (TWC) (انظر قاعدة المساندة)، لا يجب أن يكون واسعًا كثيرًا لدرجة أن يصبح غير عملي. فالفريق الذي يترأسه منسق NSDS هو أشبه بمجموعة تنسيق تشغيلية تؤمّن الدعم التقني للمستشارين والوكالات القطاعية ومراقبة التقدم. وسيشكل هيئة التطبيق الرئيسية التي تجري الدراسات وتكتب التقارير وتطور الاقتراحات وتقود العملية الإجمالية. ويمكن دعم هذه العملية من قبل المستشارين.

يتم تصميم الاستراتيجيات القطاعية من قبل فرق صغيرة محددة (عبر اللجوء إلى مستشارين وطنيين للمساعدة في حال الضرورة) على أن تعكس الأجزاء المختلفة من الـ NSS، بما فيها الوزارات القطاعية والهيكليات اللا مركزية في الحكومة، وتضمّ مجموعةً من الإحصائيين والمحللين ومستخدمين آخرين للإحصاءات إلى جانب لاعبين أساسيين آخرين على صلة بإجراءات مماثلة مثل استراتيجية الحدّ من الفقر أو استراتيجية التنمية الوطنية. وسيتم تحديد فرق التصميم عند تحديد لجان العمل القطاعية.

في الماضي، وجدت الكثير من الدول أنه من المفيد إشراك مستشارين دوليين ليقدموا النصح إلى فرق التصميم التابعة لها. ويتمتع المستشارون الدوليون بخبرة في إجراءات مماثلة، والاستقلالية، والقدرة على طرح الأسئلة الصعبة. ولا يجب الاستعانة بهؤلاء المستشارين لتصميم الـ NSDS أو تطبيقها بل لتسهيل التصميم والتطبيق، وهذا لا يجب أن يحيد عن الملكية المحلية للإجراءات أو الحلول المحلية للمشاكل.


بناء فريق التصميم في الممارسة

من ومتى
في معظم الدول، يلعب مكتب الإحصاء الوطني الدور الأساسي في الإحصاءات الوطنية. لذا يرجح أن يلعب دورًا أساسيًا في تصميم الاستراتيجية وتطبيقها وقد يوفر الدعم الإداري لمنسق الـ NSDS. ولكن بعض الدول قد ترغب في أن يكون لها فريق تصميم (على الأخص من قبل منسق الـ NSDS) مرتبط مباشرةً بالوزارة المسؤولة عن الإحصاءات لضمان إقامة رابط أفضل مع الجوانب المختلفة من السياسة. ويجب بناء فريق التصميم بأسرع وقت ممكن، ويستحسن أن يكون ذلك قبل إعداد خارطة الطريق.

كيف
قد يكون من المناسب إنشاء فريق أساسي مرن يدعم منسق NSDS مع وجود أشخاص آخرين يتعاملون مع الجوانب المختلفة من مسائل التصميم والمسائل الخاصة. من المهم التفكير ماليًا بالعملية من أجل التطبيق وقد يتوقع من الفريق الأساسي أن يكون مشاركًا بما هو أبعد من مرحلة التصميم. ومن المهم أيضًا إعداد الشروط الخاصة بمنسق NSDS وفريق التصميم. ويجب أن تحدد أدوارهما بوضوح من خلال بنية قواعد المساندة المختارة.

Preparing > Design Team

As well as political leadership, the NSDS will need technical management and leadership to co-ordinate the design of the strategy, working closely with staff and other stakeholders of the NSS.

 
The NSDS central design team, in principle attached to the Technical Working Committee (TWC) (see CONSTITUENCY), should not be so large as to be unwieldy. The team, headed ideally by an NSDS coordinator, is a small operational co-ordinating group that provides technical backup to consultants and sectoral agencies and monitors progress. It will be the main implementing body conducting the studies, writing the reports, developing proposals, and driving the overall process. It could be assisted by consultants.

Design of sectoral strategies should be carried out by small specific teams (using national consultants if necessary for assisting) and should reflect the various parts of the NSS, including sectoral line ministries and decentralised structures of government; and comprise a mix of statisticians, analysts, and other users of statistics, as well as key actors engaged in related processes such as the Poverty Reduction Strategy or National Development Strategy. Identification of the design teams will be done when the sectoral working committees will be identified.

Many countries have found it helpful in the past to engage international consultants to advise their design team. International consultants can bring experience of similar processes, independence and the ability to ask difficult questions.They should not be hired to design or implement the NSDS but rather to facilitate its design and implementation and this should not detract from local ownership of the processes or local solutions to the issues. Use of consultants from other developing countries in the framework of a south-south co-operation process is advisable. However, the use of national consultants is strongly recommended.


Building the design team in practice

Who and When
In most countries, the National Statistical Office plays a nodal role in national statistics. It is therefore likely that it will play a key role both in the design and the implementation of the strategy and might provide the NSDS co-ordinator, accommodation, and administrative support to the team. However, countries may want to have a design team (and particularly the NSDS coordinator) directly attached to the Ministry in charge of statistics to ensure a better link with the policy aspects. Constitution of the design team should be done as soon as possible, ideally before the drafting of the roadmap.

How
A small flexible core team around the NSDS co-ordinator might be adequate, with additional people to address various aspects of design and specialist issues. It is important to think the process through to implementation and the core team might be expected to be involved beyond the design phases. It will be important to prepare terms of reference for the NSDS co-ordinator and the design team. Their role and tasks have to be clearly defined throughout the structure of the chosen constituency.