النوع الاجتماعي

لا تشكل إحصاءات النوع الاجتماعي بيانات قائمة على الجنس فحسب. فهي تسمح بتجميع وتحليل هذه البيانات، مع إدراك أن العوامل القائمة على النوع الاجتماعي تؤثر على الرفاه. فهي تمر بمجالات مختلفة تعكس قضايا المساواة بين الجنسين - الأدوار الاقتصادية والاجتماعية والسياسية للمرأة والرجل (والبنات والصبية) في المجتمع. لا تستخرج إحصاءات النوع الاجتماعي نتائج فقط، بل تستنتج الاحتياجات والقدرات بحسب الجنس في جميع مجالات السياسة الهامة. هناك تشديد متزايد على تأطير هذه الأسئلة بشكل مناسب، فيما يعمل صناع القرار لتضييق الفجوات بين الجنسين في مجالات مثل التعليم والعمل والصحة، فضلاً عن فهم كيفية ترابط هذه النتائج بشكل أفضل.

نظراً لأن بيانات النوع الاجتماعي تمر بمختلف القطاعات، هناك دعم متزايد من قبل الوكالات الإحصائية الدولية والوطنية لدمج (أو "تعميم") النوع الاجتماعي في جميع مراحل جمع البيانات وإعداد الإحصاءات الرسمية. في عام 1995، أوصت منصة العمل في المؤتمر العالمي للأمم المتحدة المعني بالمرأة بتعزيز القدرة على إعداد إحصاءات النوع الاجتماعي وتعزيز تعميم مراعاة المنظور الجنساني في صياغة السياسات وتنفيذها ورصدها لإعطاء فهم أوضح لمساهمة المرأة في التنمية الوطنية. ومنذ العام 2007، يعمل برنامج إحصاءات النوع الاجتماعي العالمي التابع لشعبة الإحصاءات في الأمم المتحدة على تطوير قدرات الدول على جمع وتقديم إحصاءات ومؤشرات موثوقة متعلقة بالنوع الاجتماعي بغية إبلاغها لجهات صنع السياسات على نحو أفضل. وهذا يشمل محاولة تعميم النوع الاجتماعي في المنظمات الإحصائية الوطنية، وبالتالي المساعدة في الحد من مصادر التحيز المختلفة التي غالباً ما تعيق تفسير إحصاءات النوع الاجتماعي - بما في ذلك في إطار إعداد التقارير والصور النمطية والعوامل الثقافية الأخرى التي تؤثر على جمع البيانات.

تقدم إحصاءات النوع الاجتماعي معلومات قيمة بشأن التفاوتات بالنسبة للمرأة مقارنة بالرجل في مختلف المجالات. لذلك، تقوم الأهداف الرئيسية لجمع بيانات النوع الاجتماعي على ما يلي:

  • تحديد حجم ضعف المرأة والأضرار الملحقة بها من خلال قياس مستويات الرفاه لدى الإناث من حيث القيمة المطلقة (بدلاً من مقارنتها مع الذكور) وقياس الفوارق وعدم المساواة بين الجنسين .
  • قياس التقدم أو التغيرات في ظروف المرأة من حيث القيمة المطلقة (التغيرات في المستويات) ومقارنةً مع الرجال (التغيرات في الفوارق بين الجنسين) من خلال تتبع التوجهات مع الوقت.
  • شرح وتحديد حجم مشاركة المرأة في المجتمع ومساهمتها في التنمية .
  • تقييم نتائج وأثر التدخلات الإنمائية على قدرات المرأة وتحقيق تكافؤ الفرص - على رفاههم ومشاركتهم في المجتمع.


الحاجة لتعزيز إحصاءات النوع الاجتماعي

ورغم أهمية إحصاءات النوع الاجتماعي، لا تزال البيانات بشأن نشاط الفتيات والنساء ورفاهها عبر مجالات متعددة مثل الصحة والتعليم والفرص الاقتصادية والمشاركة السياسية والأمن الإنساني ناقصة (راجع مبادرة البيانات 2X في الأدوات أدناه).

 

الصحة
هناك حاجة لبيانات تسجيل حيوي أفضل بغية جمع معلومات دقيقة عن وفيات الأمهات، بما في ذلك أسباب الوفاة حسب العمر، في البلدان ذات الدخل المنخفض والوفيات المرتفعة التي لا تجمع حالياً وتبلغ عن هذه البيانات (السبب الرئيسي هو أن هناك حاجة لعينات كبيرة جداً لجمع بيانات صحيحة عن وفيات الأمهات). وتبقى معدلات وفيات الأمهات مرتفعة بشكل غير مقبول في هذه البلدان ويشكل التسجيل الدقيق للمعدلات والظروف التي تؤدي إلى وفيات الأمهات معلومات أساسية لبناء سياسة قائمة على الأدلة. كما هناك حاجة لمعلومات أكثر وأفضل بشأن مرضية الأمهات.

لكن قضايا صحة المرأة تتجاوز ظروف الأمهات. هناك أدلة قوية على أن تفقد النساء الحياة الصحية بسبب الإعاقة مقارنة بالرجال، بما في ذلك أعباء المرض الزائدة التي لا علاقة لها بالأمومة (مثل مرض الألزهايمر والخرف وهشاشة العظام والإعاقات الأخرى). تحتاج جهود جمع البيانات لمعالجة الأسباب التي لا يتم الإبلاغ عنها على نطاق واسع لأعباء المرض الزائدة لدى المرأة وتحليل مساهمات الجنس والنوع الاجتماعي وتفاعلها في المسببات والبداية والتقدم والوقاية من هذه الحالات. صحة المراهقين - بما في ذلك المعلومات عن المحددات الاجتماعية للسلوكيات الصحية بين المراهقات – تشكل أيضاً ثغرة بيانات مع انعكاسات هامة على السياسة.

هناك أيضاً ثغرات ملحوظة إضافية في البيانات المتعلقة بصحة المرأة في إطار العنف ضد المرأة والصحة العقلية. هذه القضايا واسعة على حد سواء وتصيب أعداداً كبيرة من الفتيات والنساء، رغم أن تأثيرها محدود جداً في البيانات. وقد يخلق الدفع إلى سد هذه الثغرات في البيانات إلى تأثير كرة الثلج المتدرجة، بحيث تزيد البيانات المتزايدة وضوح هذه القضايا وتعطي حافزاً للنساء لطلب المساعدة ولمقدمي الخدمات لتقديم المزيد من خيارات العلاج.

وفي الإطار نفسه، فإن المزيد من البيانات الموثوقة بشأن استخدام المرأة لخدمات صحة الأم وغير الأم (بالاستناد إلى الاستخدام الموثق في العديد من البلدان الفقيرة) قد تقطع شوطاً طويلاً نحو تصميم تدخلات صحية أفضل للفتيات والنساء.

 

التعليم
يضمن تعزيز مخرجات التعليم جني الطلاب من الذكور والإناث العوائد الاجتماعية والاقتصادية للتعليم، وقد يكون له تأثير مضاعف على التسجيل. ويجب أن يقود وجود تدابير قابلة للمقارنة دولياً لمخرجات التعلم المصنفة بحسب الجنس جهود بيانات النوع الاجتماعي في هذا المجال. وتقوم التدابير الحالية الخاصة بجودة التعليم في جميع البلدان إلى حد كبير على المدخلات ولا تكفي لتقييم نتائج التعلم.

هناك ثغرة ثانية في البيانات وهي معلومات أفضل على الفتيات المستبعدة اجتماعياً- بسبب العرق أو الانتماء الإثني أو الإعاقة - اللواتي من المحتمل أن تعاني من حرمان مزدوج قائم على الاستبعاد الجنسي والاجتماعي، مما يؤدي إلى معدلات أدنى في الالتحاق بالمدارس وفي نتائج تعلم متدنية لأولئك الذين يلتحقون.

أما الثغرة الثالثة فهي انتقال المراهقات من التعليم إلى سوق العمل، بالإضافة إلى ما يحدث للأعداد الكبيرة من النساء الشابات في البلدان النامية التي تفشل في تحقيق هذا التحول. ستسمح هذه المعلومات لوضع السياسات المستهدفة بتعزيز أهمية التعليم للفتيات الأكثر حرماناً في النظام التعليمي وبالمساعدة في إدماجها في سوق العمل.

 

الفرص الاقتصادية
تبرز الحاجة إلى بيانات ذات نوعية جيدة موزعة حسب الجنس في مجالات العمل في القطاع غير الرسمي ومؤسسات القطاع غير الرسمي. إذ إن النشاء ينشطن بكثافة في هذه القطاعات حيث النساء ولكن لا يتم احتساب أعدادهن رسميا وبدقة. إن فهم تجربة المرأة في هذه المجالات يتطلب وجود بيانات مفصلة عن عملهن غير مدفوع الأجر، بما في ذلك البيانات الموثوقة حول استخدام الوقت وأنواع ومدى العمالة غير الرسمية، فضلا عن أنشطة تنظيم المشاريع. وتشمل الثغرات في البيانات الأخرى التفاوت في المدخول والأرباح للنساء، هجرة اليد العاملة النسائية (بما في ذلك السن، الخصائص الديموغرافية الأخرى، أسباب الهجرة، التحويلات المرسلة وظروف العمل)، التنقل بداعي العمل (أي اللواتي يتطلعن للانتقال للعمل المأجور في القطاع الرسمي، واللواتي ينتقلن من محل الاقامة والإنتاج المنزلي إلى سوق العمل)، وملكية الأصول، والحصول على الخدمات المالية. كذلك من الضروري تقييم الأصول التي تملكها المرأة والقيود المالية بطريقة أفضل لفهم التمكين الاقتصادي، ولكن يوجد عدد قليل جدا من الدراسات الاستقصائية الوطنية القائمة التي تسجل هذه المعلومات على المستوى الفردي.

البيانات في القطاع الزراعي، وخاصة حصة المرأة في الأنشطة الزراعية والأوضاع في العمالة الزراعية غير الرسمية، تتصدر قائمة الثغرات في البيانات بين الجنسين من حيث الفرص الاقتصادية. قياس الإنتاجية الزراعية للمرأة والعوامل التي تحدد هذه الإنتاجية، بما في ذلك الحصول على الأراضي والموارد الزراعية، أمر ضروري لتصميم السياسات الزراعية المستندة إلى المعرفة الجندرية.

 

الأمن السياسي
هناك بيانات محدودة للغاية بشأن الجوانب الجنسانية للصراع، لذا من المهم جمع البيانات عموماً في هذا المجال بشكل أفضل، بما في ذلك البيانات القائمة على النوع الاجتماعي الخاصة بالوفاة والمرض والنزوح القسري الناجمين عن الحروب، والاستجابات التكيفية للصراعات والعنف المرتبط بالصراعات..
وهناك أيضا بيانات ضئيلة بشأن الأدوار القيادية للمرأة في جهود السلام والأمن، في حين أن هذه المعلومات أساسية لرصد تنفيذ قرار الأمم المتحدة رقم 1325 على المستويات الوطنية بشكل مناسب.
وفقاً لتقديرات عام 2012 الصادرة عن الشعبة الإحصائية للأمم المتحدة، يعد ما يقارب 80٪ من البلدان في جميع أنحاء العالم بانتظام إحصاءات الوفيات والمشاركة في القوى العاملة والتعليم والتدريب القائمة على النوع الاجتماعي. ولكن أقل من ثلث البلدان تعد إحصاءات مهمة بشأن العمالة غير الرسمية وتنظيم المشاريع والعنف ضد المرأة والعمل غير مدفوع الأجر، القائمة على النوع الاجتماعي.

وقد شكل النقص في البيانات عقبة رئيسية في قياس الفروق وعدم المساواة بين الجنسين وتصميم السياسات وبرامج تعزيز تقدم الفتيات والنساء وتوسيع الفرص المتاحة لها في المجتمع وتقييم نتائج وتأثير التدخلات الإنمائية ذات الصلة. وهذه المسألة أكثر حدة في البلدان النامية حيث سعة البيانات محدودة للغاية. كما أن النتائج المترتبة على هذا النقص في المعلومات أسوأ أيضاً في الكثير من هذه البلدان، حيث مساوئ المرأة أكبر، حيث يجب وضع حلول قائمة على أدلة فعالة لمعالجة هذه المساوئ - لصالح المرأة والمجتمع. قد يؤدي سد الثغرات في بيانات النوع الاجتماعي أيضاً إلى وجود المزيد من المعلومات المفيدة لكل من النساء والرجال، لتطوير سياسات أفضل يستفيد منها الجميع. في حالة النساء، على وجه الخصوص، يمكن أن تصدر بيانات سيئة بسبب إجابة شخص آخر غير المرأة أو الفتاة بنفسها في مقابلات جمع المعلومات عن الأسر أو الشركات.

 

تحديد ثغرات بيانات النوع الاجتماعي ومصادرها
بناءً على الحاجة (شدة والتفاوت في النتائج التي تؤثر على النساء) والتغطية القطرية وأهمية السياسة، نجمت26 ثغرة في بيانات النوع الاجتماعي من عملية رسم الخرائط التي تقودها مبادرة البيانات 2X (راجع الوثيقة الكاملة في الصفحة 9 من الأدوات أدناه). أخذت عملية رسم الخرائط بعين الاعتبار ثلاثة مصادر رئيسية لبيانات النوع الاجتماعي:

  1. التعدادات والمسوح على المستوى الجزئي التي توفر معلومات عن الأفراد والأسر والمنشآت؛;
  2. البيانات المولدة مؤسساتياً، بما في ذلك خدمات المنشآت والسجلات الإدارية (من المستشفيات والمدارس والسجلات المدنية وسلطات الضرائب، الخ) والسياسات والقوانين واللوائح التي يتم تطويرها من خلال العملية السياسي؛;
  3. البيانات الكبيرة، التي لم يتم التنقيب عنها بعد في قضايا النوع الاجتماعي.

 

سد ثغرات البيانات

إدراج النوع الاجتماعي في الـNSDS
في البلدان النامية، سيسهل تعميم النوع الاجتماعي في المنظومة الإحصائية الوطنيةكثيراً اذا ما تم أخذه بعين الاعتبار في بداية تصميم الـNDSD القطرية، إذ أن الـNDSD تربط بين الاستراتيجيات الإحصائية وأطر السياسات الإنمائية الوطنية أو السياسات القطاعية الوطنية الخاصة بما في ذلك السياسات المتعلقة بالنوع الاجتماعي أو الطلب الدولي (الأهداف الإنمائية للألفية والمبادرات الدولية الأخرى).

يجب فهم أهمية إحصاءات النوع الاجتماعي جيداً والإقرار بها (راجع الإقرار). توفر المبادرات الدولية المختلفة دعماً قيماً في فهم وتعزيز الإقرار بهذه القضية. في السنوات الأخيرة، اتخذت بضعة وكالات خطوات لوضع تحديد منهجي لثغرات معينة في بيانات النوع الاجتماعي التي يتوجب على البلدان والمنظمات الإحصائية الوطنية أن تركز عليها لتحسين السياسات الموجهة نحو النساء. وقد جمعت مجموعة الخبراء المشتركة بين الوكالات التابعة للأمم المتحدة والمعنية بإحصاءات النوع الاجتماعي (IAEG-GS) "مجموعة دنيا" من 52 مؤشراً كمياً لإحصاءات النوع الاجتماعي وقسمتهم إلى ثلاث فئات، بحسب وضوحها المفاهيمي ومعاييرها الدولية وإنتاجها المنتظم. تواصل الـ IAEG-GS وضع واقتراح إدخال تعديلات على هذه المؤشرات وتصنيفها، فيما يدخل عدد من الوكالات الدولية أيضاً متغيرات للمجموعة الدنيا. وهذا يشمل هيئة الأمم المتحدة للمرأة التي، كجزء من إطار التنمية بعد عام 2015، طرحت مجموعة من المؤشرات المقترحة بشأن تمكين المرأة في يونيو/حزيران 2013. ومن خلال مشروع الأدلة والبيانات للمساواة بين الجنسين ( (EDGE، تتعاون شعبة الإحصاءات في الأمم المتحدة وهيئة الأمم المتحدة للمرأة أيضاً لوضع المبادئ التوجيهية المنهجية لجمع البيانات عن الأصول المادية والمالية القائمة على الجنس؛ وسيتم إجراء النشاط نفسه لبيانات روح المبادرة 2X، وهي مبادرة أطلقت في عام 2012 كشراكة بين مؤسسة ويليام وفلورا هيوليت ومؤسسة الأمم المتحدة وحكومة الولايات المتحدة، لتحديد واقتراح سبل لحل الثغرات في البيانات ذات الصلة بالسياسات.

خلال عملية تصميم الـNSDS، ويمكن أن يتقرر في خارطة الطريق (راجع خريطة طريق) أنه مهما كان الإنتاج الإحصائي، يجب أن يؤخذ البعد الجنساني في الاعتبار. فيتم بالتالي احتساب المنظور الجنساني المنهجي في جميع خطوات التصميم (راجع خطوات تصميم) وزيادة فرص دمج البعد الجنساني في جمع البيانات وإصدارها. وتكون "جنسنة" استراتيجيات قطاعية محددة مثل الزراعة، مهم جداً أيضاً في دمج المنظور الجنساني على جميع المستويات.

يمكن تسهيل التحسينات من حيث التوافر والجودة واستخدام بيانات المسح القائمة من خلال برنامج البيانات المعجل (راجع "الأدوات" أدناه).

يمكن استغلال الطرق المختلفة لتحليل البيانات القائمة أكثر لتوفير معلومات غنية أكثر عن الفتيات والنساء. ويمكن استكمال المسوح التي تغطي مواضيع مختلفة مع بعضها البعض، إذا كانت تغطي الفترة الزمنية والسياق نفسه، بغية زيادة تطور البيانات والمساعدة في معالجة المسائل الأوسع نطاقاً التي قد يكون من الصعب معالجتها بمصدر واحد فقط. من المهم أيضاً ربط بيانات النتائج بشأن عمر المرأة وعرقها وحالتها الاجتماعية ودخلها والخصائص الاجتماعية والاقتصادية الأخرى، إذ أن مؤشرات وضع المرأة يمكن أن يختلف بشكل كبير وفق هذه المتغيرات. ويمكن أيضاً إثراء قواعد البيانات القائمة من خلال إضافة وحدات محددة مع أسئلة جديدة على أداة مسح وإطار أخذ عينات قائمين.

كما أن الدعم القوي والدائم (راجع التعزيز) لمصادر المعلومات الهامة الخاصة بالنوع الاجتماعي، مثل السجلات المدنية والحيوية (مصدر هام للمعلومات بشأن وقوع الأحداث الحيوية وخصائصها) وتعدادات السكان والمساكن (يمكن تعزيز القدرة على إصدار إحصاءات النوع الاجتماعي إذا تم دمج الجوانب المتعلقة بالنوع الاجتماعي في هذه التعدادات) ومسوحات استخدام الوقت - مسوحات القوى العاملة (لا يتم تسجيل مساهمة المرأة بشكل صحيح في إطار نظام الحسابات القومية)، مهم جداً أيضاً.

Gender

Gender statistics are not only sex-disaggregated data. They allow compilation and analysis of such data, recognizing that gender-based factors have an impact on well-being. They cut across various domains, reflecting gender issues - the economic, social and political roles of women and men (and girls and boys) in a society. Gender statistics not only elicit outcomes, but also the needs and capabilities by sex across important policy areas. There has been heightened emphasison framing these questions appropriately, as policymakers work towards narrowing gender gaps in such areas as education, work and health, as well as a better understanding of how these outcomes are interrelated.

Because gender data cuts across sectors, a growing number of international and national statistical agencies favorintegrating (or “mainstreaming”) gender intoall stages of data collection and production of official statistics. Back in 1995, the Platform for action at the UN World Conference on Women recommended strengthening capacity to produce gender statistics and reinforce gender mainstreaming in policy-formulation, implementation and monitoring for giving a clearer understanding of the contributions women make to national development. Since 2007, the United Nations Statistical Division’s Global Gender Statistics Programme has also worked to develop countries’ capacity to collect and present reliable gender statistics and indicators to better inform policymaking. This includes an effort to mainstream gender within national statistical organizations (NSOs), and in so doing help reduce different sources of bias that often hamper the interpretation of gender statistics — including underreporting,and stereotypes and other cultural factors that affect data collection.

Gender statistics provide valuable information on disparities for women relative to men across domains. Hence the main objectives in gender data collection are to:

  • Quantify women’s vulnerability and disadvantage by measuring levels in female wellbeing in absolute terms (rather than in comparison with males), in addition to measuring sex and genderdifferences and inequalities.
  • Measure progress or changes in women’s conditions in absolute terms (changes in levels) and in comparison with men’s (changes in sex and gender disparities) by tracking trends over time.
  • Quantify and explain women’s participation in society and their contributions to development.
  • Assess the outcome and impact of development interventions on women’s capabilities and the realization of opportunities — on their wellbeing and participation in society.


NEED TO IMPROVE GENDER STATISTICS

Despite the importance of gender statistics, data is still lacking on girls’ and women’s activity and well-being across multiple domains such as health, education, economic opportunities, political participation, and human security (cf. Data 2X initiative in Tools below).

 

Health
Better vital registration data is needed to gather accurate information on maternal deaths, including causes of death by age, in high mortality low-income countries that do not currently collect and report this data (a main reason being that very large samples are needed to collect valid data on maternal mortality). Maternal mortality rates remain unacceptably high in these countries and accurate recording of rates and conditions leading to maternal deaths are key information for building evidence-based policy. More and better information is also needed on maternal morbidity.

But women’s health issues go beyond maternal conditions. There is substantial evidence that women lose more healthy life to disability compared to men, including excess disease burdens that are unrelated to motherhood (such as Alzheimer’s disease, dementia, osteoarthritis, and other disabilities). Data collection efforts need to address largely unreported causes of women’s excess disease burdens and parse out the contributions of sex and gender, and their interaction, in the etiology, onset, progression and prevention of these conditions.Adolescent health – including information on the social determinants of healthy behaviors among adolescent girls – also stands on its own as a data gap with important implications for policy.

Additional important data gaps in women’s health are data on violence against women and mental health. These issues are both broad, affect large numbers of girls and women, and despite their impact are severely limited in data. A push to close these data gaps may create a snowball effect, where more data increases the visibility of these issues and provides an impetus for women to seek help and for service providers to offer more treatment options.

Relatedly, more reliable data on women’s utilization of maternal and non-maternal health services (under utilization that has been documented in many poor countries) would go a long way towards the design of better health interventions for girls and women.

 

Education
Improving educational outcomes ensures that students, male and female, reap the social and economic returns to education, and may have a multiplier effect on enrollment. Having internationally comparable measures of learning outcomes disaggregated by sex should drive gender data efforts in this domain. Current measures of education quality across countries are largely based on inputs and are not sufficient to assess learning outcomes.

A second data gap is better information on socially excluded girls – due to race, ethnicity, or disability – who are likely to suffer the double disadvantage of gender and social exclusion, resulting in lower enrollment levels and in poor learning outcomes for those who do enroll.

The third gap is adolescent girls’ transition from education to the workforce, as well as what happens to the large numbers of young women in developing countries who fail to make this transition. This information will allow for targeted policymaking to improve the relevance of schooling for the most disadvantaged girls in the educational system and to help with their incorporation into the workforce.

 

Economic Opportunities
Having quality sex disaggregated data on informal sector work and informal sector enterprises is needed; these are domains where women are overrrepresented in work and enterprises that are not accurately or officially counted. Understanding women’s experience in these areas requires having detailed data on their unpaid work, including reliable time use data, types and extent of informal employment, as well as entrepreneurial activities. Other data gaps include earnings disparities and shadow earnings for women, female labor migration (including age and other demographic characteristics, reasons for migrating, remittances sent and working conditions), employment mobility (that is, on those who are looking to move to paid work in the formal sector, and those who are transitioning from home and subsistence production into market work), asset ownership, and access to financial services. Better measurement of women’s assets and financial constraints is essential to understanding their economic empowerment, but very few existing national surveys record this information at the individual level.

Data in the agricultural sector, particularly on women’s stake in on-farm activities and conditions in agricultural informal employment, rounds out the list of gender data gaps in economic opportunities. Measuring women’s agricultural productivity and the factors determining this productivity, including access to land and agricultural resources, is essential for the design of gender-informed agricultural policies.

 

Political Security
Very limited data exists on the gender aspects of conflict, so better data collection overall in this area, including sex-disaggregated data on war-related mortality and morbidity,forcible displacement, adaptive responses to conflict, and conflict-related violence, is key.
There is also scant data on women’s leadership roles in peace and security efforts, while this information is basic to adequately monitor the implementation of UN Resolution 1325 at national levels.
According to 2012 estimates by the UN Statistical Division, close to 80% of countries worldwide regularly produce sex-disaggregated statistics on mortality, labor force participation, and education and training. But less than a third of countries produce important gender statistics on informal employment, entrepreneurship, violence against women and unpaid work.

The lack of data has been a major obstacle in gauging gender differences and inequalities, designing policies and programs to promote girls’ and women’s advancement and expand their opportunities in society, and assessing the outcome and impact of related development interventions.And this is evenmore severe in developing countries where data capacity is most limited. The consequences of this lack of information are also worse in many of these countries, where women’s disadvantages are greater, as is the need to devise effective evidence-based solutions to address these disadvantages – for the sake of both women and society.Closing gender data gaps can also result in having more useful information on both women and men, for the development of better policies benefiting all.In the case of women, in particular, bad data can result from having someone other than the individual woman or girl responding on her behalf when interviewers collect information on households or enterprises.

 

IDENTIFYING GENDER DATA GAPS AND SOURCES
Based on need (severity and disparities in outcomes affecting women), country coverage, and policy relevance, 26 gender data gaps resulted from the mapping exercise led by the Data 2X initiative (see full document p. 9 in Tools below). The mapping exercise considered three main sources of gender data:

  1. censuses and micro-level surveys that provide information on individuals, households and enterprises;
  2.  data generated institutionally, including facility-generated service and administrative records (through hospitals, schools, civil registries, tax authorities etc.) as well as policies, laws, and regulations that are developed through the political process;
  3. big data, which has yet to be mined for gender issues.

 

BRIDGING DATA GAPS

Integrating gender in the NSDS
In developing countries, mainstreaming gender into the National Statistical System will be greatly facilitated if it is taken into account at the very beginning of the design of a country’s NSDS, since the NSDS provides the linkage between statistical strategies and national development policy frameworks, specific national sectoral policies including gender-related policies or international demand (MDGs or other international initiatives).

The importance of gender statistics should be well understood and acknowledged (See ACKNOWLEDGMENT). Various international initiatives provide valuable support in understanding and reinforcing acknowledgement of the issue. In recent years, a few agencies have taken steps to systematically identify specific gaps in gender data that countries and national statistical offices should focus on to improve policies directed towards women. The UN Inter-Agency Expert Group on Gender Statistics (IAEG-GS) has compiled a “minimum set” of 52 quantitative indicators for gender statistics and divided them into three tiers, according to their conceptual clarity, international standards and regular production. The IAEG-GS is continuing to develop and propose modifications of these indicators as well as their classification, and a number of international agencies are also introducing variants of the minimum set. This includes UN Women which, as part of the post-2015 development framework put forth a set of proposed indicators on women’s empowerment in June 2013. Through the Evidence and Data for Gender Equality (EDGE) project, UNSD and UN Women also collaborate on developing methodological guidelines to collect data on physical and financial assets disaggregated by sex; the same exercise will be done for entrepreneurship. Data 2X, an initiative launched in 2012 as a partnership between the William and Flora Hewlett Foundation, the United Nations Foundation, and the US Government, seeks to identify and propose ways to resolve policy-relevant data gaps.

During the NSDS design process, it could be decided in the Roadmap (see ROADMAP) that whatever the statistical production, the gender dimension must be taken into account. The gender perspective would thus be accounted for systematically in all the design steps (See DESIGN STEPS)and increase the chances of the gender dimension being incorporated in data collection and production. “Engendering” specific sectoral strategies such as agriculture will also be very important in integrating the gender perspective at all levels.

Improvements in terms of availability, quality and use of existing survey data can be facilitated through the Accelerated Data Program (see below "Tools").

The various ways to analyze existing data can be further exploited to provide richer information on girls and women. Surveys covering different topics can be supplemented with one another, if they cover the same time period and context, to add data complexity and help tackle broader questions that may be difficult to address with just one source. Correlating data on outcomes with women’s age, ethnicity, marital status, income, and other socioeconomic characteristics is important, as indicators of women’s status can vary substantially by these variables. Existing databases can also be enriched by adding specific modules with new questions to an existing survey instrument and sampling frame.

Strong and permanent advocacy (see PROMOTION) on crucial sources of gender information, such as Civil and Vital registrations (important source of information on occurrence and characteristics of vital events), Population and Housing censuses (the capacity to produce gender statistics will be strengthened if gender aspects are mainstreamed into these censuses) and Time Use surveys - Labor Force surveys (the contribution of women is not captured properly in the framework of the System of National Accounts) will also be very important.